2012 Game Plan

Posted: January 1, 2012 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , ,
Fwoosh! Pow! KaBam!

I like to imagine this is 2011 being blown up like the death star.

So 2011 is past and this is the traditional time for looking forward. New Year’s Day is when we all look forward to bettering ourselves. Well, what’s relevant here and to those of you reading, is how I’m going to improve my blog over the next twelve months.

If I do things right there should be some noticeable changes in the near future. The changes that continue after that will be on the back end and will hopefully go mostly unnoticed by the readers.

The biggest noticeable change is going to be an updated posting schedule. I’m going to be going to a MWF posting schedule. One of these posts will be a book of the week, one will be a kind of catch-all for any news or other thoughts that catch my eye, and the third one will be for either game reviews or talking about my own efforts in designing a game. That’s right guys, I’m going to start designing. Just some board game elements at first (as frequently as my friends will tolerate me using them as game testers) and some interactive fiction. By the end of the year I’d like to be putting together some decent mods for games.

There will be some fun surprises too. But I won’t say what they are just now. Just think of them as very, very belated Christmas presents.

I know there will be some hiccups. My husband and I will be moving apartments when our lease is up, and that’s a huge time sink. I’m looking at going back to school and that will suck up some time too, both the getting in and the actually being in. But hopefully I’ll be able to live up to my promises.

Other things you will probably notice will include a more prominent link to my Amazon shop. I want my website to support it’s own meager needs and maybe kick some in to defray the cost of buying the books I read here. This way I won’t have to put up any banner ads or Google adsense nonsense that I think would interfere with your reading enjoyment.

I’ll be setting up the Amazon mall on a separate page so it will be an opt-in experience. There will be other new pages as well, like a much needed “Contact” page for starters.

Have a happy, safe, and prosperous 2012, everyone.

Comments
  1. Bill says:

    Hey LX…I’m anxious to see the website evolution!

  2. Craig says:

    Good luck on your blog this year!

    I’ll have to make sure I use your Amazon link the next time I order something. Hmmm, that’s a good excuse to finally get Salvatore’s Neverwinter books. Has anyone read those?

    • LX says:

      Thanks man, every little bit (of support and Amazon shopping both) helps.
      I haven’t read the Neverwinter books. My fiction reading has kind of taken a hit over the past few years. (I hate to admit it, but I think George RR Martin’s Dance of Dragons was the only fantasy book I’ve read in about a year.)

Leave a Reply

